Map downloading...

Show the mapHide the map

Bisse de Baar

Natural site

The Bisse de Baar offers you an amazing view over the Rhone Valley. Another great feature is that being the lowest bisse in the region of Nendaz, it is pretty much accessible a large part of the year.

The Bisse de Baar takes its source above the château de Brignon, at 840 metres above sea level. It is still used to water the fields and crops of Baar, Salins and Sion (Maragnenaz), especially the numerous apricot orchards.
With its 6 kilometres in length, departing from Brignon, it passes through vineyards, dry prairies and fields of apricots.

The construction of this bisse goes back to before 1456. In that year, a convention was signed between the people of Arvillard and Turin accompanied by a representative of the Bishop of Sion on the one hand and the people of the of Brignon and Baar on the other. The latter gave the bishop and his associates permission to take water from the existing channel under certain conditions, including the widening of the bisse at their own expense.

A BISSE, WHAT IS IT ?

The bisses were originally irrigation channels that diverted water from the rivers to water the farm land crops growing on the mountain slopes. They are true historical relics and bear witness to the Valaisans' relentless fight against drought. It is their construction that makes them so special. Indeed, these channels had to adapt to the different terrain and environments encountered along the way, giving rise to impressive workmanship, especially when we imagine what the means of construction were at the time. The bisses of our region take their source from the Printse, a river that flows along our valley. Of the eight bisses located in Nendaz, six still have water flowing within their banks and are still carrying out their original task of irrigation.

  • Summer, Autumn, Spring
  • Panorama / belvedere

Might also interest you

Bisse de Chervé

Natural site

Bisse de Saxon

Natural site

Bisse de Salins

Natural site

Bisse de Vex

Natural site

Bisse d'en Bas

Natural site

Bisse Vieux

Natural site

Bisse du Milieu

Natural site

We use cookies to collect information about how you use nendaz.ch. We use this information to make the website work better and to enhance services.

Cookie settings

Chargement de la carte...

Afficher la carteMasquer la carte

Bisse de Baar

Site naturel

Le bisse de Baar offre une magnifique vue sur la plaine du Rhône. Autre atout : il est le bisse de Nendaz qui se trouve à la plus basse altitude ce qui le rend praticable une grande partie de l'année.

Le bisse de Baar prend sa source au-dessous du château de Brignon, à 840 mètres d’altitude. Il remplit toujours sa fonction d’irrigation pour les prés et cultures de Baar, Salins et Sion (Maragnenaz), en particulier pour les vergers d’abricotiers.
D’une longueur de 6 kilomètres, il traverse, à partir du village de Brignon, quelques vignes, des prairies sèches et des champs d’abricotiers.

La date de construction de ce canal est antérieure à 1456. Cette année-là, une convention est passée entre les gens d’Arvillard et de Turin accompagnés d’un représentant de l’Evêque de Sion d’une part et des gens de la majorie de Brignon et de Baar d’autre part. Ces derniers donnent à l'évêque et ses associés la permission de prendre de l’eau dans le canal existant sous certaines conditions, entre autres, l’élargissement à leurs frais du bisse.

UN BISSE, C’EST QUOI ?

Les bisses sont, à l’origine, des canaux d’irrigation qui permettent de dévier l’eau des rivières vers les cultures situées sur les coteaux. Véritables vestiges historiques, ils sont les témoins de la lutte sans relâche des Valaisans contre la sécheresse. C’est leur construction qui les rend si particuliers. En effet, les canaux doivent s’adapter aux différents reliefs et milieux rencontrés en chemin, ce qui donne naissance à d’impressionnants édifices, surtout lorsque l’on s’imagine quels étaient les moyens de construction de l’époque. Les bisses de notre commune prennent leur source dans la Printse, rivière qui s’écoule le long de notre vallée. Sur les huit bisses présents à Nendaz, six sont toujours en eau et accomplissent encore leur tâche initiale d’irrigation.

  • Été, Automne, Printemps
  • Panorama / belvédère

Pourrait aussi vous intéresser

Bisse de Chervé

Site naturel

Bisse de Saxon

Site naturel

Bisse de Salins

Site naturel

Bisse de Vex

Site naturel

Bisse d'en Bas

Site naturel

Bisse Vieux

Site naturel

Bisse du Milieu

Site naturel

Nous utilisons des cookies pour collecter des informations sur la manière dont vous utilisez nendaz.ch. Nous utilisons ces informations pour faire fonctionner le site web au mieux et améliorer nos services.

Paramètres des cookies