Map downloading...

Show the mapHide the map

Bisse Vieux

Natural site

Enjoy this pleasant walk along the water's edge through the heart of the forest.

The precise dating of this bisse is not known. However, a publication from the local authorities dating back to 1658 mentioning this irrigation channel suggests that it had already existed for some years. The seven-kilometre-long Bisse Vieux takes its source from the river Printse, between Siviez and Planchouet.

As you walk along it, you can clearly see the different materials used to build it. Over the years, the old wooden gutters have been replaced by concrete pipes or iron troughs. And the parts which pass through the gorges made dangerous by the risk of avalanches crashing down from the Dent de Nendaz forced the farmers to run the water through pipes.

This bisse is still used today to irrigate meadows and crops, especially the apricot orchards and raspberries patches in the regions of Haute-Nendaz, Fey and Bieudron.

A BISSE, WHAT IS IT ?

The bisses were originally irrigation channels that diverted water from the rivers to water the farm land crops growing on the mountain slopes. They are true historical relics and bear witness to the Valaisans' relentless fight against drought. It is their construction that makes them so special. Indeed, these channels had to adapt to the different terrain and environments encountered along the way, giving rise to impressive workmanship, especially when we imagine what the means of construction were at the time. The bisses of our region take their source from the Printse, a river that flows along our valley. Of the eight bisses located in Nendaz, six still have water flowing within their banks and are still carrying out their original task of irrigation.

WHY IS IT WORTH THE DETOUR ?

This bisse allows you to walk from the resort of Haute-Nendaz to Planchouet in about 1h30. Marvel at the landscapes and wood sculptures you can find along the way. Observe how the builders were able to get around a steep rock face by creating a small waterfall along a stone staircase...

ADVICE FROM THE LOCALS

If you are interested in discovering the bisses, kill two birds with one stone and walk two of our bisses by combining this hike with the Bisse du Milieu ! Indeed, between them, these bisses form a charming loop between Haute-Nendaz and Planchouet.

  • Summer, Autumn
  • Picnic area available
  • Panorama / belvedere

Weather forecast for Haute-Nendaz

Today
-
Tomorrow
-
Check the weather forecast

Might also interest you

Bisse du Milieu

Natural site

Bisse d'en Bas

Natural site

Bisse de Chervé

Natural site

Bisse de Saxon

Natural site

Bisse de Salins

Natural site

Bisse de Baar

Natural site

Bisse de Vex

Natural site

We use cookies to collect information about how you use veysonnaz.ch. We use this information to make the website work better and to enhance services.

Cookie settings

Chargement de la carte...

Afficher la carteMasquer la carte

Bisse Vieux

Site naturel

Profitez de cette paisible balade au fil de l’eau et au cœur de la forêt.

La datation précise de ce bisse n’est pas connue. Cependant, une publication communale datant de 1658 faisant mention de ce canal laisse supposer qu’il existait depuis quelques années déjà. D’une longueur de sept kilomètres, le bisse Vieux prend son eau dans la rivière la Printse, entre Siviez et Planchouet.

En le longeant, on se rend bien compte des différents matériaux utilisés pour ce type d'ouvrage. Au cours des années, les vieux chéneaux de bois ont été remplacés par des tuyaux en béton ou par des bacs en fer. Et les passages des couloirs à avalanches descendant de la Dent de Nendaz ont obligé les paysans à faire passer l’eau dans des tuyaux.

Ce bisse est encore utilisé de nos jours pour l’irrigation des prairies et des cultures, en particulier pour les abricotiers et les framboises dans les régions de Haute-Nendaz, de Fey et de Bieudron.

UN BISSE, C’EST QUOI ?

Les bisses sont, à l’origine, des canaux d’irrigation qui permettent de dévier l’eau des rivières vers les cultures situées sur les coteaux. Véritables vestiges historiques, ils sont les témoins de la lutte sans relâche des Valaisans contre la sécheresse. C’est leur construction qui les rend si particuliers. En effet, les canaux doivent s’adapter aux différents reliefs et milieux rencontrés en chemin, ce qui donne naissance à d’impressionnants édifices, surtout lorsque l’on s’imagine quels étaient les moyens de construction de l’époque. Les bisses de notre commune prennent leur source dans la Printse, rivière qui s’écoule le long de notre vallée. Sur les huit bisses présents à Nendaz, six sont toujours en eau et accomplissent encore leur tâche initiale d’irrigation.

POURQUOI CA VAUT LE DÉTOUR ?

Ce bisse vous permet de relier la station de Haute-Nendaz à Planchouet en environ 1h30 de marche. Emerveillez-vous au gré des paysages et des sculptures de bois que vous trouverez en chemin. Observez bien comme les constructeurs ont su se jouer d’une barre rocheuse en créant une petite cascade le long d’un escalier de pierres...

LE CONSEIL LOCAL

Si la découverte des bisses vous intéresse, faites d’une pierre deux coups et parcourez deux de nos bisses en combinant cette randonnée avec le bisse du Milieu ! En effet, à eux deux, ces bisses forment une charmante boucle entre Haute-Nendaz et Planchouet.

  • Été, Automne
  • Aire de pic-nic disponible
  • Panorama / belvédère

Météo pour Haute-Nendaz

Aujourd'hui
-
Demain
-
Consulter la météo complète

Pourrait aussi vous intéresser

Bisse du Milieu

Site naturel

Bisse d'en Bas

Site naturel

Bisse de Chervé

Site naturel

Bisse de Saxon

Site naturel

Bisse de Salins

Site naturel

Bisse de Baar

Site naturel

Bisse de Vex

Site naturel

Nous utilisons des cookies pour collecter des informations sur la manière dont vous utilisez nendaz.ch. Nous utilisons ces informations pour faire fonctionner le site web au mieux et améliorer nos services.

Paramètres des cookies