Official website of Veysonnaz Tourism
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Heritage

Grand Bisse de Vex

/ /
Heritage

Grand Bisse de Vex

Constructed in the XVth century, and 12 km long, this bisse takes us as far as Veysonnaz, then to the Mayens-de-Sion.
 
Water intake altitude 1,500 m, at Planchouet in the river Printse.
Length 12 km
Date of construction 1453
 
The canal runs along the lower edge of the spruce forest and waters the high-altitude chalets before running deeper into the woods for several kilometres. It then crosses dry grasslands above the village of Clèbes before traversing Veysonnaz and the Mayens-de-Sion to end up irrigating the crops and the meadows of the Commune de Vex.
 
At Planchouet one can see the birth of the bisse with the water intake from the river and the concrete basin which serves as sand-remover. All along the course, wooden channels and footbridges bear witness to the works necessary to the passage of the water.
 
The bisse was constructed in 1453. At that time, Nendaz was a possession of the Duke of Savoy. The people of Vex lodged a petition in order to obtain the authorization to construct a canal starting from the Printse. An agreement was signed between them and the people of the Majorie de Nendaz under certain conditions. One of them was that the people of Vex, instead of those of Nendaz, should deliver a beam of larch annually to the town of Sion for the upkeep of the bridge over the Rhône at Champsec. Original documents dating from 1453 and 1476 are deposited in the archives of the two communes.
 
With the decline of agriculture, the use of the water rights diminished. The will to use the bisse for touristic purposes appeared already in 1931. The Société de Développement des Mayens-de-Sion made a request to the consortage for the maintenance of water in the canal until the 20th September of each year. The bisse was abandoned in 1971 but, thanks to the initiative committee for the reconstruction of the great Bisse de Vex coming from Nendaz, one can again enjoy this hiking route with water along the whole length of the course.
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Partagez sur
OFFICE DU TOURISME DE VEYSONNAZ
Route de Magrappé 42
CH – 1993 Veysonnaz
+41 27 207 10 53 | info@veysonnaz.ch
HOURS
Monday-Friday:
9.00-12.00 | 14.00-17.00
Saturday-Sunday:
9.30-12.00 | 14.00-16.30

Site officiel de l’office du tourisme de Veysonnaz
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Patrimoine

Grand Bisse de Vex

/ /
Patrimoine

Grand Bisse de Vex

Construit au XVe siècle et d’une longueur de 12 km, il nous mène jusqu'à Veysonnaz, puis aux Mayens-de-Sion.
 
Prise d’eau altitude 1500 m, à  Planchouet dans la rivière la Printse
Longueur 12 km
Date de construction 1453
 
Le canal longe la limite inférieure de la forêt d’épicéas et arrose les mayens avant de s’enfoncer dans la les bois sur plusieurs kilomètres. Il parcourt ensuite les prairies sèches  au-dessus du village de Clèbes puis traverse Veysonnaz et les Mayens-de-Sion pour enfin irriguer les cultures et les prairies de la commune de Vex.
 
A Planchouet on peut voir la naissance du bisse avec la prise d’eau dans la rivière et le bassin en béton servant de déssableur. Tout au long du parcours, des chéneaux en bois et des passerelles témoignent des travaux nécessaires au passage de l’eau.
 
Le bisse a été construit en 1453. A cette époque Nendaz était une possession du duc de Savoie. Les gens de Vex déposèrent une requête afin d’obtenir l’autorisation de construire un canal partant de la Printse. Un accord fut  signé entre eux et les gens de la majorie de Nendaz sous certaines conditions. L’une d’entre elles fut que les gens de Vex livreraient anuellement,  en lieu et place de ceux de Nendaz,  une poutre de mélèze à la ville de Sion pour l’entretien du pont du Rhône à Champsec.  Des documents originaux datant de 1453 et 1476 sont déposés dans les archives des deux communes.
 
Avec le recul de l’agriculture, l’utilisation des droits d’eau diminue. La volonté d’utiliser le bisse sur un plan touristique apparaît déjà en 1931. La Société de Développement des Mayens-de-Sion fait une demande auprès du consortage pour le maintien de l’eau dans le canal jusqu’au 20 septembre de chaque année.  Le bisse est abandonné en 1971 mais grâce au comité d’initiative pour la reconstruction du grand Bisse de Vex venant de Nendaz, on peut à nouveau profiter de cet itinéraire de randonnée avec de l’eau sur la totalité du parcours.

Plus d'informations www.bissedevex.ch
 
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Partagez sur
OFFICE DU TOURISME DE VEYSONNAZ
Route de Magrappé 42
CH – 1993 Veysonnaz
+41 27 207 10 53 | info@veysonnaz.ch
Heures d'ouverture
Lundi-vendredi:
9.00-12.00 | 14.00-17.00
Samedi-dimanche:
Fermé