The origins of the word ‘Vesona’ go back to the years 1200 according to a manuscript discovered among the Cantonal archives. The village of Veysonnaz was constituted, from 1264, of a prelate barony from Sion. The district of Veysonnaz was founded in 1768 and attached to the ten or so districts of Hérémence until 1802; and then to the district of Sion.
Up until the 1960’s, the population lived mainly from farming. Since then, the district moved into the tourist industry with the building of its cable car and then, little by little, increased its ski domain to finally reach that of the 4 Vallées by its liaison with Nendaz and Verbier.
The district is spread over three plateaus, the upper one links the resort to the 4 Vallées ski domain, the middle one is home to Veysonnaz village and the lower one to the hamlet of Beauperrier.
The district is surrounded, on three sides by Nendaz and to the east by Salins.
Today, Veysonnaz is one of the smallest districts in the Valais by its area: 111 hectares for a population of about 600 with the addition of 4,500 tourists in high season.
Anecdote: The paradoxe is that Veysonnaz, the smallest district in the Valais, is located at the foot of the biggest ski domain in Switzerland and the 3rd biggest in Europe!
You can discover a few dates that marked the history of our village by clicking on this link