Official website of Veysonnaz Tourism
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Heritage

Grand Bisse de Vex

/ /
Heritage

Grand Bisse de Vex

Constructed in the XVth century, and 12 km long, this bisse takes us as far as Veysonnaz, then to the Mayens-de-Sion.
 
Water intake altitude 1,500 m, at Planchouet in the river Printse.
Length 12 km
Date of construction 1453
 
The canal runs along the lower edge of the spruce forest and waters the high-altitude chalets before running deeper into the woods for several kilometres. It then crosses dry grasslands above the village of Clèbes before traversing Veysonnaz and the Mayens-de-Sion to end up irrigating the crops and the meadows of the Commune de Vex.
 
At Planchouet one can see the birth of the bisse with the water intake from the river and the concrete basin which serves as sand-remover. All along the course, wooden channels and footbridges bear witness to the works necessary to the passage of the water.
 
The bisse was constructed in 1453. At that time, Nendaz was a possession of the Duke of Savoy. The people of Vex lodged a petition in order to obtain the authorization to construct a canal starting from the Printse. An agreement was signed between them and the people of the Majorie de Nendaz under certain conditions. One of them was that the people of Vex, instead of those of Nendaz, should deliver a beam of larch annually to the town of Sion for the upkeep of the bridge over the Rhône at Champsec. Original documents dating from 1453 and 1476 are deposited in the archives of the two communes.
 
With the decline of agriculture, the use of the water rights diminished. The will to use the bisse for touristic purposes appeared already in 1931. The Société de Développement des Mayens-de-Sion made a request to the consortage for the maintenance of water in the canal until the 20th September of each year. The bisse was abandoned in 1971 but, thanks to the initiative committee for the reconstruction of the great Bisse de Vex coming from Nendaz, one can again enjoy this hiking route with water along the whole length of the course.
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Partagez sur
OFFICE DU TOURISME DE VEYSONNAZ
Route de Magrappé 42
CH – 1993 Veysonnaz
+41 27 207 10 53 | info@veysonnaz.ch
HOURS
Monday-Friday:
9.00-12.00 | 14.00-17.00
Saturday-Sunday:
9.30-12.00 | 14.00-16.30

Offizielle Webseite von Veysonnaz Tourismus
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Erbe

Grand Bisse de Vex

/ /
Erbe

Grand Bisse de Vex

Die im 15. Jahrhundert erbaute und 12 km lange Bisse de Vex führt uns über Veysonnaz bis nach Les Mayens-de-Sion.

 

Fassung auf 1500 m Höhe aus dem Fluss Printse bei Planchouet

Länge 12 km

Baujahr 1453

 

Die Suone führt dem Waldrand eines Fichtenwaldes entlang und bewässert die Bergweiden, bevor sie dann für einige Kilometer im Wald verschwindet. Danach passiert sie die Trockenwiesen oberhalb des Dorfes Clèbes, durchquert Veysonnaz und die Mayens-de-Sion, bis sie schliesslich die Wiesen und Felder der Gemeinde Vex bewässert.

 

Bei Planchouet sieht man, wie das Wasser aus dem Fluss entnommen wird und bestaunt das grosse Betonbecken, das als Entsander dient. Entlang der ganzen Strecke beweisen Holzkännel und Brücken, welch grosse Arbeit nötig war, damit das Wasser seinen Weg nach Vex fand.

 

Die Suone wurde 1453 erbaut. Zur damaligen Zeit unterstand Nendaz der Herrschaft des Herzogs von Savoyen. Die Bewohner von Vex stellten einen Antrag, Wasser aus der Printse zu fassen und einen Kanal bauen zu dürfen. Unter der Zusicherung gewisser Konditionen wurde ein Abkommen zwischen den Leuten von Vex und den Leuten der Meierei Nendaz geschlossen. Eine Bedingung war, dass die Bewohner von Vex der Stadt Sitten für den Unterhalt der Rhonebrücke bei Champsec anstelle von Nendaz jährlich eine Lärche lieferten. Die mit 1453 und 1476 datierten Originaldokumente sind in den Archiven der beiden Gemeinden hinterlegt.

 

Mit dem Rückzug der Landwirtschaft ging auch der Wasserbedarf zurück. Die Idee, die Suone touristisch zu nutzen, tauchte bereits 1931 auf. Der Verkehrsverein Mayens-de-Sion stellte bei der Geteilschaft den Antrag, die Suone jeweils bis zum 20. September bewässert zu lassen. Die Suone wurde 1971 aufgegeben, kann aber dank dem Initiativkomitee für den Wiederaufbau der Bisse de Vex auch heute noch in ihrer vollen Länge als Wanderweg genutzt werden.

Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Grand Bisse de Vex-42124
Partagez sur
OFFICE DU TOURISME DE VEYSONNAZ
Route de Magrappé 42
CH – 1993 Veysonnaz
+41 27 207 10 53 | info@veysonnaz.ch
Öffnen
Montag-Freitag:
9.00-12.00 | 14.00-17.00
Samstag-Sonntag:
Geschlossen